Washington State has announced that its minimum wage rate will increase to $14.49 per hour on January 1, 2022.
Washington State does not consider gratuities as part of an employee’s wages, and employers are responsible for ensuring their tipped employees receive the applicable minimum wage rate.
Employers that impose an automatic service charge related to food, beverages, entertainment or porterage must disclose an itemized receipt showing their customers the percentage of the automatic service charge or tip that will be paid to the employees serving the customers.
Employers must also comply with local laws/ordinances, rules or regulations that require higher minimum wage rates. Employers may continue to pay employees who are 14 or 15 years of age 85% of the state’s minimum wage rate ($12.32 per hour).
Next Steps for Employers
Employers in Washington State should prepare their payroll processes and procedures to ensure compliance with the new minimum wage requirement by the effective date.